More often than not, Vegetarianism is commonly confused with the Veganism diet, which can lead to misconceptions on what is and isn't allowed when choosing foods that are vegan. But there are clear differences between the two. Vegetarianism is defined as an individual that does not eat or does not believe in eating meat, fish, fowl, or, in some cases, any food derived from animals, as eggs or cheese, but subsists on vegetables, fruits, nuts, grain, etc. Veganism consists of a diet that omits animal products in its entirety.
It's always important to be aware of your dietary options on any diet, so you're able to expand on your daily eats. That being said, a Veganism diet doesn't have to be limited or boring, but it's important to watch out for foods that aren't vegan.
There are tons of delicious, surprising, and exciting foods available that are vegan-friendly. The following list contains just a few products that can be enjoyed while on a vegan diet, as none of the foods include any animal products, such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs, or dairy. Additionally, they also do not contain animal by-product ingredients that may include but are not limited to butter, casein, rennet, or whey.
Sunday morning breakfast is easy when there are vegan-friendly instant pancake mixes on store shelves. Some ready-to-make pancake mixes include ingredients such as dried milk and buttermilk. The inclusion of those ingredients would mean it's no longer vegan-friendly. Thankfully, a selection of Aunt Jemima pancake and waffle mixes are without animal products.
Another excellent breakfast option is the wide selection of Thomas' Bagels varieties. This quick on-the-go food is versatile and can be topped with vegan cream cheese or other vegan-friendly spreads. Unlike many bread products in grocery store aisles, these Thomas' flavors do not contain any animal products such as milk or eggs.
It's challenging to find cake mixes that are free of casein, whey, and other commonly used dairy ingredients. This cake mix can be used for all special occasions when you don't want to create a vegan cake from scratch. Another benefit of the marble fudge mix is it appeases both chocolate and vanilla fanatics.
Cake frosting is one of the most challenging vegan-foods to achieve the right consistency for piping on to cakes, cupcakes, cookies and other confections. Thankfully you can purchase frosting that is shelf stable with Duncan Hines!
Unfortunately, many soft, chewy candies contain an animal byproduct called gelatine which helps the candy hold its shape. Surprisingly, Sour Patch Kids does not include gelatine, thus making it vegan-friendly.
If you're looking for a snack that won't let your vegan lifestyle down, the Back to Nature Classic Creme Cookies use a vanilla creme center that contains no animal products. They're addicting!
These simple, delicious buttery crackers are vegan-friendly. This snack is a beautiful addition to any party platter adorned with vegan cheeses and dips.
Stacy's Pita Chips are a hearty, crunchy, and healthy snack that is filling and makes for a great dipping chip. They're the perfect pairing for homemade hummus. Did you know that all hummus is vegan? Bon Appetit!
Sometimes animal products such as additives that give chips its additive flavor lurk on tasty chips without us knowing. Luckily these Kettle Brand Potato Chips don't compromise on taste, and they can tag along to a football game with you this fall.
Most commonly hot chocolate beverages use milk powders and other non-vegan ingredients to create their mixes. Fortunately more and more companies are offering animal-free options. This particular mix tastes delicious mixed with either water or alternative non-dairy milk.
Clif Bars are a great source of protein, nutrients, and calories and they're made with plant-based ingredients and are vegan-friendly. If you're always on the go, this is a great pick me up.
These sweet, simple, chocolate crisps will satisfy your sweet tooth, and make an excellent midday snack.
Pies are generally loaded with animal by-products. Flaky and delicious pie crusts consist mainly of eggs and butter, so seeing a vegan-friendly apple pie can be a welcoming sight if you need a go-to dessert this holiday season.
Original flavor Pillsbury Crescent Rolls are one of the most deceiving vegan-safe choices on our list. Crescent rolls from a bakery are made from puff pastry, which consists of layers of dough and butter folded together. Pillsbury Crescents, however, use a vegan-friendly substitute on their original flavored pastry dough. Despite this substitution, they still have a fantastic light and buttery flavor.
Stuffing is the staple of the Thanksgiving meal. This holiday is right around the corner, so it's best to get ready and stock up. You don't want to run out and have to make a mad dash to the store. Luckily, there are plenty of vegan-friendly choices.
Unfortanuarly there will be many foods that vegans will come across that will seem vegan-friendly, but in reality, they're not. Those animal products will find their way into some products thought to have been cruelty-free. Be sure to check your ingredient labels. Here are some examples of foods that are often thought of as safe, but aren't.
It is a common misconception that honey is vegan. It is not, as many bees are killed during honey production, and sometimes, the Queen bee is killed to keep levels of production high. Also, several bee parts are found in raw honey before it is filtered. Cruelty-free alternatives are available such as Bee Free Honee.
Soups that may be disguised as vegan-safe may often be made with a meat stock for extra flavoring. Checking ingredient labels is imperative when looking at soups. There are a few vegan-friendly soups in the Progresso Vegetable Classics line such as Lentil, 99% Fat-Free Lentil, Hearty Tomato, and Tomato Basil.
Unfortunately, alcohol may contain several traces of animal by-products from the filtration process. Also, some beer styles such as milk stouts use lactose, removing its vegan seal of approval. You can check if your favorite spirits are vegan-friendly by visiting Barnivore.
Processed white sugar may contain traces of charred bone used as a decolorizing filter to achieve a white color. Unfortunately, because processed sugar can be found in so many products, this is a difficult one to avoid. The good news, however, is that if sugar is labeled as certified organic, it cannot have been filtered through bone char.
Unnecessary additives often accompany juices found on shelves in the grocery store today. Some of those additives include nutrients, vitamins, and animal by-products.
Adopting a vegan lifestyle can seem intimidating when you see the foods you can't have. However, there's a bountiful selection of vegan-friendly foods available at your local grocery store. Whether you're in the mood for a sweet treat such as chocolate, or a savory combo of pita chips and hummus, you can rest assured that you have access to foods that satisfy all of your cravings. While discovering a whole new world of vegan foods, it's important to watch out for hidden dangers such as soup and alcohol, as they may have been processed with animal by-products.