Does fast food and vegan really belong in the same sentence? You'll be surprised at the number of vegan options at some of the most popular fast food chains. Being vegan doesn't have to be complicated and difficult. Here is a list of vegan-friendly fast food restaurants along with some menu items to order.

Tex-Mex Restaurants

Taco Bell

taco bell restaurant

In 2016, Taco Bell became the first fast food restaurant to offer American Vegetarian Association certified food options. Therefore, Taco Bell offers the widest variety of vegetarian and vegan meals. To make a dish vegan, ask for the "fresco style" version. Some of these dishes include:

Crunchwrap Supreme

All you have to do is order it with black beans and ask for the seasoned beef, sour cream, and nacho cheese to be removed. You're left with a soft tortilla wrap layered with fresh lettuce, tomatoes, a crunchy taco shell and black beans.

Power Menu Burrito

For this, ask to have the cheese, sour cream and avocado ranch sauce omitted. Instead, substitute the removed ingredients with any of the vegan-friendly options including fresh guacamole, black beans, refried beans or seasoned rice.

Fresco Crunchy or Soft Taco

Instead of seasoned beef order this with black beans and add as many toppings you like including lettuce, diced tomatoes, cilantro, guacamole, or pico de gallo.

Certified Vegan Sides

Some of Taco Bell's Certified Vegan Ingredients include:

  • Black beans
  • Guacamole
  • Pico de gallo
  • Seasoned rice
  • Refried beans
  • Fire roasted salsa

For a complete list of vegan-friendly dishes, ingredients, sides, and sauces check out their guide on how to eat vegan.

Chipotle

chipotle resturaunt

Chipotle is another Tex-Mex restaurant that offers vegan options. To substitute chicken, steak, or pork just add sofritas. Sofritas are seasoned organic tofu with their signature spices. Add it to a burrito, taco, or burrito bowl along with rice, pico de gallo, guacamole, lettuce and fajita veggies. Be sure to steer clear away from the chipotle honey vinaigrette as they are not vegan.

Del Taco

del taco sign

This West-Coast taco chain restaurant that allows you to veganize almost any dish. However, the rice at some locations are not vegan, so be sure to check with your local Del Taco before ordering. Here are some vegan combos to choose from:

Value Taco

For the value taco, substitute the meat for black beans and ask to have the cheese omitted. Top it with pico de gallo and avocado for around 30 cents per slice.

Jacked Up Value Bean, Rice, and Cheese Burrito

To order the veganized version of this ask for the rice and cheese to be removed. This leaves a plain bean burrito with green salsa and lime seasoning. You can also add avocado slices.

CrunchTada Tostada

The non-vegan version of this includes meat and cheese. To make it vegan-friendly, just ask to have the meat and cheese to be removed.

1/2 lb Bean and Cheese Burrito

To order this just ask for no cheese. Some have even substituted cheese with french fries, this is a non-traditional burrito but it's oh so satisfying.

More Vegan Items:

  • Hash Brown Sticks
  • Cheese and Bean Dip (without cheese of course)

Baja Fresh

baja fresh

Many Baja Fresh items can be made vegan by substituting the meat and cheese for beans, rice, and other toppings. Also, be mindful that some seemingly vegan dishes like the tortilla soup and churros are not vegan. Here are some vegan options:

Burrito

Have a burrito stuffed with black or pinto beans and rice instead of cheese and meat. Also, you can order a burrito bowl with beans and rice served over a bed of lettuce. Feel free to top with tortilla strips and salsa as well.

Baha Taco

Substitute the meat for beans and top with lettuce, tomatoes, salsa and veggies like grilled onions and peppers.

Qdoba

Like the other Tex-Mex restaurants on this list, many non-vegan items on their menu can be veganized with a couple of tweaks.

Burrito Bowl

Order a vegetarian burrito bowl and have it filled with black or pinto beans, cilantro or brown rice. Top it any of their wide array of salsas and add veggies or guacamole.

Loaded Tortilla Soup

Order it in a crunchy tortilla shell or bowl. Add brown or cilantro rice and your choice of beans, sauces, and veggies.

Nachos

For these, all you have to do is order nachos with no cheese. Substitute the cheese for pico de gallo, veggies, salsa, and guacamole.

Pizza

Dominos

dominos pizza storefront

Yes, it is possible to order a vegan pizza. All you have to do is ask for no cheese. Go crazy with the toppings and add as many veggies and sauces you want. Some of their vegan sauces include BBQ, hot buffalo, Italian, and garlic. Here are more vegan options from Dominos:

Pasta

Order the penne pasta with no sauce, since their marinara and Alfredo aren't vegan. Also, ask for it to be put in a plain bowl instead of a bread bowl, for it is made with milk. To make this dish more filling and yummy ask for the vegetable topping to be added in.

Sandwiches

Their artisan bread is vegan, so you can enjoy the Mediterranean Veggie sandwich loaded with roasted red peppers, bananas, and diced tomatoes-- just ask for no cheese. You can even add extra sauces like BBQ and pizza sauce.

Salads

Of course, salads can be made vegan with the omission of cheese and dairy dressings. You can order the Classic Garden salad without cheese and croutons, you'll be left with a bowl of tomatoes, carrots, onions, and greens. Also, you can order a Chicken Apple Pecan salad without the chicken and cheese for a bowl of greens, diced apples, and dried cranberries. For salad dressings, the Italian, Catalina, and balsamic dressings are all vegan.

Papa John's

papa john's

Like Dominos it is possible to order a vegan pizza, just order it without the cheese. Be aware that the deep crust is not vegan as it contains butter oil. The garlic dipping sauce and BBQ sauce are vegan-friendly. Some other menu items that are vegan includes corn on the cob and potato wedges.

Pizza Hut

pizza hut sign

Most Pizza Hut crusts are not vegan, however, the Thin 'N Crispy, Hand-Tossed, and Salted Pretzel crusts are. Just have the cheese omitted add veggies and sauces like marinara, crushed tomato, and buffalo sauce. After you chow down on your delicious vegan pizza, finish your meal with some sugary cinnamon sticks. While their cinnamon sticks are vegan, their icing dipping sauce is not.

Little Ceasars

little ceasars

Both the regular sauce and crust are vegan, so you can order a plain pizza with no cheese and heavy on the veggies. Also, you can order the Crazy Bread without the Parmesan cheese with some Crazy Sauce. Yum!

Sandwich Restaurants

Subway

subway

Subway is one of the most vegan-friendly spots. With a wide variety of veggies and vegan sauces and dressings, you can easily satisfy your craving for a fresh sandwich. Their dairy free bread options include Hearty Italian, Italian, Sourdough, and Wrap. Vegan-friendly sauces include yellow mustard, deli brown mustard, oil vinegar, sweet onion sauce, fat-free Italian dressing, Subway vinaigrette, and Buffalo sauce. Additionally, the Malibu Garden patty is vegan and available in over 540 Subway restaurants. There is also a vegan falafel option at some locations. If you're watching your carb intake, you can also opt for a veggie delight salad.

Wendy's

wendy's sign

The vegan options at Wendy's are a little slim, but it's about quality over quantity, right? Here you have the choice to dine on a classic garden salad full of greens, cucumbers, and diced tomatoes, a baked potato with chives, an order of salty fries or a veggie sandwich--which is a regular burger without the meat and cheese.

Chick-Fil-A

chick-fil-a

If you're vegan, no need to stay away from Chick-Fil-A. There are some vegan options including their salads without meat and cheese, like their Asian Salad and Market Salad. The vegan dressings include Zesty Apple Cider Vinaigrette, Light Italian, and the Polynesian and BBQ sauce. Another option you have is the Cool Wrap without the chicken and cheese. Lastly, their classic waffle fries are vegan.

White Castle

white castle logo

For a long time, vegans have been excluded from enjoying items from the White Castle menu. Now, White Castle offers a vegan slider and black bean slider! Feel free to add sweet Thai sauce, hot sauce, ketchup, BBQ sauce, yellow mustard, or mild salsa. While you're at it order some vegan sides including fries and hash brown nibblers.

A&W

A&W Resturaunt

No list of vegan-friendly restaurants is complete without A&W which has recently added the coveted Beyond Burger vegan burger to their menu. The burger comes with lettuce, tomato, red onion, pickles, ketchup, and mustard. To keep it vegan, be sure to order it without mayo and burger sauce. Don't forget to add an order of fries without your juicy vegan burger.

Subscribe to the Oola Newsletter

Is Dried Fruit Actually Healthy? Everything You Need To Know Life in Flavor Perry Carpenter Read More
Popular Examples of High and Low Acid Foods Life in Flavor Anjula Montgomery Read More
How Acidity Affects The Flavor Of Your Food Life in Flavor Maria C. Read More
Cookie Settings